Posted on

Would you do it for a dollar?

I don’t know what made me think of this tonight, but… Can I persuade you to watch the film INCIDENT AT LOCH NESS without knowing anything in advance about it? Are you willing to do that? That’s how I watched it and, based solely on my own experience with it, I think that’s the best way to approach it.

I stumbled across it in the video store prolly over a year ago, now–saw the words “Werner Herzog” and “Loch Ness”, yelped with glee, and grabbed it. Didn’t even look at the box again. Just marched up to the counter, paid, and went home with it.
Herzog and Nessie and cameras, oh my!I’d never even heard of it before, and it turned out to be one of my favourite finds of the past few years.

If you’re gonna watch it, don’t Google it. Don’t IMDb it. Don’t even read the box at the video store. Just take it home and watch it. Then I’d love to hear what you thought of it. You don’t hafta know much about Werner Herzog before you watch it. Really, all you need to know about his work and his reputation as a filmmaker is addressed within the film. 

and a handbag for dessertAnd d’ya want a Dream Double-Bill? Add Burden of Dreams–Les Blank’s fascinating documentary about the making of Herzog’s Fitzcarraldo. (Friends in Sarnia or Chatham are welcome to borrow any or all of these films from me. It would be my pleasure to share them!) Bonus on the BURDEN disk: Blank’s short film, Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe, in which, umm, Werner Herzog eats his shoe.

Well, technically, his boot. A desert boot. Yum.

→ originally published 2006-04-07

Leave a Reply

