Posted on

Anybody got a toothpick?

46%

You know who you are.

On a related note, premiering at Sundance this past week was a new documentary about the Uruguyan rugby team that was stranded for 72 days when their plane crashed in the Andes in 1972. It has the unwieldy title Stranded: I’ve Come From a Plane That Crashed On the Mountains, which apparently is a quote from one of the survivors.

I like the sounds of it—especially its lack of an “authoritative” voiceover. Director Gonzalo Arijon allows the people actually involved in the story to tell it.

I can’t vouch for Frank Marshall’s version of the story but it’s out there too.

I can vouch for Ravenous, however. It’s totally unrelated to the rugby team’s story, but it’s about folks who et folks. It’s been so long since I saw it, I think I will add it to my ZipList to watch again. While I wait for Stranded. And ponder which of you would be tastiest if push ever came to shove.

→ originally published 2008-01-25

Leave a Reply

